top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHope T Starr

Prayer and update letter

Hello everyone!

Life has been good for me in Korea these past few months! God has really been showing me His love and grace, and helping me to adjust and grow!


I am serving at a brand new base in Busan, Newport/Shinhang Base! It is a sister base to the base I did my DTS on, Gadeok Base; and a lot of the staff and ministries are overlapping and helping each other out right now!

It's really cool to be a pioneering member of a YWAM base, and I'm excited to watch our base grow after corona ends!


Hiking in Gadeokdo

I've been serving in House Of Prayer ministry for the last few months and it has really been a powerful time of seeking God and learning to trust Him as Lord of my life.

Every day we worship and intercede for the nations.


We do several styles of worship throughout the week, that each have a different focus.

Harp & Bowl Worship, Worship With the Word, and Devotional worship.


H&B worship focuses on intercession and singing out our prayers for the nations to the Lord, using spontaneous singing and creating choruses from the prayer topics to sing new songs to the Lord!


WWW is based around meditation a specific passage of scripture (we do a different psalm every week). So we read the passage and then one of the singers sings a spontaneous song about the passage. Then we take turns singing about different aspects of God's character that we meditated on from the scripture.


And Devotional worship is where one person leads worship, sings, and plays an instrument for an hour. Everyone else worships, reads the bible, prays, and just seeks God.


I've also been serving on the worship team at my church as a singer!



Gadeokdo
Gadeokdo

God has really been teaching me to have patience and trust in Him in all things. It's been scary and difficult to be a foreigner in Korea during this pandemic. I'm far from my family and my country, and I'm at the mercy of a government that I didn't vote for, as to whether I can stay or go.

But through it all, I know that God is with me, protecting me, and providing for me. And so even though it is difficult, I can feel His guiding hand over my situation, and so I am comforted.


I am grateful for my Base community which is made up of people from all different nationalities, ages, and backgrounds. It's wonderful to have the opportunity to form Christ-centered relationships, and learn about different cultures and nations from the lens of God's love! In Gadeok and Shinhang bases, we have people from Korea, North Korea, USA, Canada, UK, Australia, Singapore, Thailand, China, and Japan!



Base Zoom Call (some people are missing, and idenity is hidden for one member)

My general schedule:

-Mon

10 am-12 pm Base meeting zoom call

1-3 pm Devotional Worship

6-8 pm Harp & Bowl led by Chang

9 pm Listening prayer with Hayoung


-Tue

1-3 pm SBS lecture, meditation, observation, and sharing on the Psalms

3-5 pm WWW led by Youngjoo


-Wed

2 pm Korean lesson with Hayoung

3-5 pm Harp & Bowl led by Chang

6 pm Piano lesson with Youngjoo


-Thurs

2-4 pm WWW led by Youngjoo

6-8 pm Thursday Night Base Gathering


-Fri

10 am-12 pm Base Meeting

2-4 pm Devotional Worship

6 pm House of Prayer family time!


-Sat

>Immanuel Journaling

>Hiking/walking around the island

>Gadeok people cook and eat dinner together

>Korean lesson with Hayoung


-Sun

11 am-1 pm Hana Church Service and Serving on the Worship team

>Cook and eat dinner together with Gadeok people


Cherry Blossoms in Gadeokdo

Prayer requests:

•My visa expires at the end of May, so please pray that God would provide a way for me to stay in Korea longer (visa extension)

•Or that He would provide safe travel to another country, grace in the government granting me a tourist visa, and finances for the government-mandated 10-day quarantine that costs around $1,000.

•My Korean would continue to improve (and get better rapidly)

•God's sovereign leadership over our new base



McDonalds picnic dinner at the beach

Thank you all so much for your prayer and support! It is such an encouragement to me to have this community of believers with me as I spend my youth seeking God's kingdom.

I love you guys, and miss you all! And I'm praying for you every day!

~Hope Starr 성소망



Narrow roads in Gadeok


"for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control."

~2 Timothy 1:7



Roads in Gadeok

PS:

To read my update about Coronavirus from March, click here


We have been live streaming our worship on YouTube. If you wanna check out our past worship sessions, or watch live, click here


Base Instagram: @ywamnewport



81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page