top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHope T Starr

Coronavirus thoughts from 2020/03/14

Hello everyone! I hope you’re all doing well! 💕 Sorry I haven’t updated you all recently. I’ve been praying a lot about what to say about everything that has been happening over here, in terms of the coronavirus.

I don’t want to spread fear or misinformation, and so I’ve been a bit hesitant to speak up about it, but as I’ve been praying for the nations affected, I’ve felt God put it in my heart to share some of my experience and my prayers for you all in this time. I left the US on the 30th of January and flew from LAX to Shenyang China, and lastly to Busan, South Korea, arriving on January 31st. This was the day that the Trump administration banned all travel to China. So, had I booked my flight for one day later, I wouldn’t have been allowed to fly.

I also, went to Seoul, Korea’s capital city, for a worship conference a few weeks ago! And the day that our team arrived back home in Gadeok is when the situation in Korea became really bad. The government closed all schools and encouraged people to stay home, and even started restricting some travel. So, had the worship conference been a week later, we wouldn’t have gone.

Also, two weeks ago God laid it on my heart to buy a reusable, filtered mask. The day I received my mask was the day that Korea started rationing masks. All in all, I’ve felt God’s hand of protection and provision over me in this time. I know he’s called me here in this time for a reason, and I have had confirmation of that through these events, and through prayer.

The island I live on, Gadeokdo, is a very small island with a population of 3,598 most of whom are very elderly people, or very young children. So because of those groups being more immunocompromised, our base decided to self-quarantine for a week, and to stop all travel outside our village until further notice, as to not spread anything to the people of our island. As of now, we are able to meet in small groups to resume our ministries. The coronavirus situation in Korea has been slowing down thanks to the government’s quick response in testing people, but there is still a lot of fear, nationwide.

I’ve been following the news in the US about the virus, and I just want to encourage you all not to succumb to fear but to trust in God while being smart and taking the proper precautions. (Regular hand washing, not shaking hands, limiting time around crowds, staying home if you are sick at all, etc.)

The virus, will and is already hitting areas around my hometown in Colorado. And it will continue to spread around the US, but that doesn’t mean that we need to panic. God is still worthy. God is still holy. God is still loving. And God is still in control.

This new era of the coronavirus is a great opportunity to re-evaluate how you can serve God and your community. This is a great opportunity to share the hope we have in Christ with the world. This is a great opportunity to worship the Lord through our suffering.

And how precious it is to Him when we are able to set aside our fear and continue to proclaim our trust in God and worship his Holy name?! Be smart, but be kind. Be cautious, but don’t be racist.

One day this will all be but a memory, and the only thing that will matter is how we reacted and if we leaned on God through this.

I’m praying for you all every day. God bless! With so much love,

~Hope Starr 성소망

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page